Welcome to the Virginia High School Mountain Bike Series

JV Series Champion Sam Roach post victory
Thanks for checking out the VAHS MTB Series website. We are in the process of planning and organizing the 2014 season. If you have any questions about participating or starting a team in your area, please email or check out the FAQ page on the website. We are looking forward to another exciting year of interscholastic mountain bike racing in Virginia!

See the race results on Webscorer       Miller School of Albemarle results are now posted.  Click link to the left for unofficial Webscorer results and spilts.  Official GC results are available in RESULTS TAB.

Record Number of Racers at Virginia High School  MTB State Championships.  Riders were challenged by a grueling 16-mile course (JV=8; Elementary=4).     The race doubled as a USA Cycling Nationals Qualifying Event for mountain bike nationals this summer.  Miller School of Albemarle's Chris Keeling won the race in commanding fashion.  A strong group including Jonas Zimmerman (Rocktown), Cameron Ritcher (Rocktown), and Taylor Clarke (Cannondale) battled it out for second place in the muddy conditions.  Clarke proved the strongest and took the lead in the second half of the last lap.  Zimmerman finished third with Series Leader, Ritcher, in 4th.  Rounding out the podium was G Shultz, who recently won the Virginia Hill Climb Championship, in 5th.  

In the Girls race, Emily Croft (PureXC) won her third consecutive race ahead of Ashlyn Woods (MSA).  

The JV race was closely contested by teammates Sam Roach (Roanoke-Eastcoasters) and Aaron Workowski.  Roach finished a few minutes ahead and took his 5th straight win and the overall title.  Josh Flory, Kieran Cottrell (MSA), and Max Koneff (BRS) finished close behind.  

Kyle Little won his second consecutive race in the Elementary category.  Kyra Shelley fought hard to retain her leaders jersey by finishing 2nd.  She was followed by Nathaniel Layman. Gus Meyers finished an impressive 4th place in his first race.  Carson Osburn rounded out the podium in 5th.  

Rocktown Racing took the overall Series and State Championship titles.  Miller School of Albemarle finished in second place just a few points ahead of PureXC.  Blue Ridge School finished 4th, and Woodberry Forest School finished 5th.  

In the JV TEAM competition, Roanoke Eascoasters edged out Miller School of Albemarle for the win.  Blue Ridge School and Bear Creek Academy finished 3rd and 4th respectively. 

Video of race coming soon!  Big thanks to everyone for coming out and making this a great season of interscholastic bike racing.   

Next Season will include ne venues!  Racers can save by purchasing a season pass for the entire series.  A season pass includes a free VAHS MTB t-shirt.  

The minimum number of riders for a team to be eligible to score is 3 riders.  The scoring system is similiar to a high school cross country meet.   J.V. and Elementary scoring is the same as varsity. Teams are welcome to race with fewer riders, but they will not be eligible for team scoring.  Individual riders will still be eligible for individual points series. 

If you are interested in starting a team or club or you have any questions, feel free to contact us. Or, just come out to race and sign up.  No license or previous experience is required.  Just bring a bike and a helmet, and you can race!

Check Out VAHS MTB Round 3!

Round 3: Williamsburg

Round 2: Blue Ridge School